To D.I.Y. For: Vintage Magazine Rack Made Lovely with Paint

 

 

I just became the owner of this lovely but lackluster mid-century magazine rack (thanks, Carrie).  While it has great bones, it was worn and a bit boring.  I decided to bring it back to life with a little rainbow paint treatment.  This project is simple as can be. I used glossy enamel craft paint which isn’t as high quality as I’d use if I intended to sell the piece but  just fine for my own home.

The fun polka dot notebook I bought from a 100 Yen store in Tokyo became my color inspiration.

I have to admit the first few coats in looks a little scary. While the enamel paint adhered well to the metal, the brush strokes were very obvious.  I continued to water down the paint  and ended up layering about 5 coats.  Make sure you allow each coat to dry thoroughly before applying the next.

After removing the painter’s tape, I only had minimal touch ups to clean up the lines.

If you want to apply a spray finish (not really necessary with enamel paint), allow it to dry for at least 24 hours.

My new magazine rack is so cheery and fun and kitty-approved!

This entry was posted in DIY, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to To D.I.Y. For: Vintage Magazine Rack Made Lovely with Paint

  1. Genevieve says:

    This reinvigorated version is very cute and catchy! I also really like the photo with your cat 🙂 Thanks for sharing.

Leave a Reply

