Our Instagram Installation

Who’s not obsessed with Instagram (or Hipstamatic or your phone photo app of choice)? My boyfriend and I have been taking pictures like crazy over the last year. We recently moved and were looking for new wall art which is rental friendly. I saw this inspiring Hipstamatic display on apartment therapy and was hoping to do something just as cool in my own home but without the cost or commitment of the huge frame.  Hence, the Instagram installation was born.

The supplies are super cheap and so are the pictures.  We ordered our Instagram prints from PostalPix (an iPhone app) and they arrived within the week. We mounted the pictures on foam core that we cut about 1/4″ smaller than the 4″ X 4″ prints for a clean edge. We affixed the pictures to the foam core cutouts with tacky glue (any glue should do- just don’t overdo it to avoid warping the photo). Last, we used painters tape and a level to create our grid design on the wall.  The foam core mounted photos were so light that we only needed fun tack to affix it to the wall so no nail holes!

I loved choosing the pictures and combining posed shots  from meaningful events with random still life shots and, of course, pics of our beloved cats.

So many good memories of this past year!

This is now the entryway to my home. I love that the first thing my friends and family see is a snapshot of themselves on our wall. We definitely plan to expand the wall to take up more of the entrance hallway. We even plan to change out pictures with seasonal shots (ex. I took loads of holiday shots this year for next year’s holiday display).

The apartment therapy post  that inspired our wall.

Hope you enjoy!- chrissy

This entry was posted in Art, DIY, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Our Instagram Installation

  1. whatnomints says:

    What a great idea!! I love looking at pictures of friends and reminiscing 🙂 I don’t do it enough – Thanks for the reminder!

  2. Genevieve says:

    This is so pretty! I’d love to blog about your stuff one day if you’re keen.

    http://www.by-genevieve.com

  3. Thanks, Genevieve, that would we awesome! I’m perusing your blog right now and it’s, well, exactly what I need. I’m working hard at improving my photography…what perfect timing! Can’t wait to dive in.

Leave a Reply

