Things I love: Polka Dots and Yayoi Kusama

I can’t remember which came first, my affection for the polka dot or my adoration of Japanese conceptualist artist Yayoi Kusama. Ok, that can’t be true as I’ve loved wearing polka dots for as long as I can remember, but it all changed when I was introduced to Yayoi Kusama.  Kusama is one of those visual artists that changed fashion for me, instilling something I already loved with meaning and fantasy that did not exist before. Kusama’s polka dot was an almost feminist polka dot, not the girly polka dot we’ve which become accustomed.  When I channel Kusama’s polka dot in my style, I feel fierce rather than precious.

Yayoi Kusama Obliteration by Dots (detail), 1968

Yayoi Kusama, Infinity Mirror Room (Phalli’s Field), 1965

Vintage Rebelle

Digitally printed tights by Uptightso

JoJo’sRetroandVintage

This vintage Elsa Schiaparelli cardigan Thrush

Nitty Gritty Now 

Kusama today, still edgy and still an icon!

Enjoy! – Chrissy

This entry was posted in Art, Uncategorized, Vintage Fashion and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Things I love: Polka Dots and Yayoi Kusama

  1. I had the chance to see a Kusama installation one day. Love it!
    And that is long before the Damien Hirst craze!!!

  2. I am so jealous! I missed one of her exhibits when I was living in Japan in about 2005. It still makes me sad.

Leave a Reply

